What music means to me…

It all started at my piano lesson last Saturday (which I wrote about in a previous post). My teachers, Vladamir Pleshakov and his wife Elena Winther, asked me to write up a few paragraphs about what music means to me, and what I get from it. My essay, along with  three of their other students’, is going to be in a book they are composing. The book is due out in June, and is about Mr. and Mrs. Pleshakov’s piano museum. Here’s how I feel:

Music is one of the greatest gifts we as humans have been given. In my opinion, it is second only to the gift of life itself. Although I personally have no wish to pursue a career in music, it is something that is a major part of my life, and always will be. I feel compelled to continue my studies in classical music, for through the music I create when I sit at the keys and play, I gain a sense of grandeur, yet at the same time, it is a most grounding experience. The piano is my refuge, and the keys are a book from which I may draw forth stories. Stories of love, and passion, of heartbreak and sorrow. Stories of love, hope, and of despair. Stories of what has been, and what is yet to come. And unless you do just that, the music is nothing. To me, the term “music” is indefinable. I believe that music is not music if it is simply written out notes played by a musician. Music is only music when it conveys a story, or a feeling. I once had a very interesting philosophical discussion with a friend of mine. We were discussing what the meaning of life was. I told her that, for me, life is music and love. If you think about it, in a sense, the two really go hand in hand. As Victor Hugo so beautifully put, “Music expresses that which cannot be said, and on which it is impossible to be silent.” My friend however, is less of a daydreamer than I am. Although she told me that my views were, “Lovely thoughts and ideas,” she promptly told me, “I don’t think that’s what the meaning of life is though.” But hear me on this: Music is more primitive than speech, it is the very root of our essence. How can we deny what is so deeply rooted in the core of our existence? I know I can’t, which is why music will always be with me, in my head, heart, and hands.

About this entry