Melvin Chen at Bard

On Sunday, I went to Bard College to see pianist Melvin Chen. Melvin Chen is the associate director of The Bard College Conservatory of Music. He completed a doctorate in chemistry from Harvard University, and also holds a double Master’s degree in piano and violin from the Julliard School.

Sunday’s program was as follows:

Piano Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI/50 Franz Joseph Haydn

Allegro

Adagio

Allegro Molto 

From Etudes pour piano, Book 1, Op. 5 Gyorgy Ligeti
Cordes a vide

Touches bloquees

Fanfares

Arc-en-ciel

Automne a Varsovie

Piano Sonata No. 3 in F Minor, Op. 5 Johannes Brahms

Allegro maestoso

Andante

Scherzo: Allegro energico

Intermezzo

Finale: Allegro moderato ma rubato

It was great to hear Melvin Chen play the Brahms sonata. I’m actually currently working on the first movement… I have to roll a lot of the chords, since my hands are rather small. Not what Brahm’s would have wanted, but hey, what can you do? I love the work very much, and it’s definitely a challenge. I didn’t completely agree with how Melvin Chen played some parts of the first movement, but all in all I enjoyed the concert. Bard College has a lot of great classical concerts, and quite a number of them are free, so if you’re in the area, go! A leisurely Sunday afternoon, a nice drive, live classical music at Bard… What could be better? Nothing, if you ask me.

About this entry