Amy Correia, Jonathan Spottiswoode, and Kenny White

The Main Street Public House hosted three concerts in as many days last week as part of their “Musical Feast.” I saw Shotgun Party on Thursday, as I wrote about previously. Future Suspects of Columbia County played at the Public House on Friday, which I didn’t make it to, but I was there again on Saturday to see Jonathan Spottiswoode, Amy Correia, and Kenny White. Have I mentioned that all of the concerts at the Public House cost only $5? Only $5!! With ticket prices that reasonable, you have no excuse not to go! Be sure to check the Main Street Public House’s website for upcoming shows.

Jonathan Spottiswoode, Amy Correia, and Kenny White took turns singing their own songs on Saturday. While one sang and played lead, the other two played accompaniment. The “one night band” sounded great, with the individuals distinct sounds blending perfectly together, creating a wonderful hybrid. I adore Kenny White’s songwriting! One of his funniest line’s of the evening: “They don’t deserve A, so I’ll call them B-holes…” And his piano playing is fantastic. Part blues, part jazz, completely great. Jonathan Spottiswoode has a smoky, sometimes gravelly voice, and a somewhat hypnotic style. When he’s not singing crazed but masterful songs which sound as though they could be used for the soundtrack of a movie about the underworld (or perhaps an asylum), he’s singing quietly sweet – but always dark – ballads. It’s a duality which is both fascinating and wonderful. As for Amy Correia, I would say her singing sounds like a blend of Joan Osbourne, Alanis Morrisette, and a little bit of Karen Dalton, but that wouldn’t be giving Amy’s own voice enough credit. She’s a powerful singer, and knows just how to strike a chord in your soul.

The musicians played three sets during the concert. The first two were great, but it was during the third set (after a lot of people had gone home, and the rest had downed a few more beers) that the musicians really let loose. More banter occurred between them and the audience, and the songs got rowdier (although the mellow ones still existed too). They were joined by a musician by the name of Tony C. who was in the audience. He sang and played three songs, which were “Minnie the Moocher”, “Ain’t Misbehaving”, and “Folsom Prison.” All three sounded great sung by Tony, who has the voice of an old blues musician. After that, Amy Correia sang an incredibly rousing spiritual she wrote called “Oh Lord,” and the thinned out crowd clapped, stomped, and danced along. The vibe in the pub was great. It’s such a homey place that I felt like that’s exactly where I was – at home – chilling with friends and family, and hanging out with the musicians. For the last bunch of songs, things got really wild, and the show got to be more of a laid-back jam session than a structured concert. I don’t even know how to put into words the experience of being there… Kenny White played some really interesting experimental jazz, Jonathan Spottiswoode noodled around on his guitar, and Amy Correia strummed her guitar and sang in her soulful voice. The musicians also played a truly haunting rendition of The Rolling Stones’ “Playing With Fire,” and the whole crowd was screaming along by the end. As the musicians sang and played the last few songs of the night, people joined along with whatever they could think of. Some people clapped, some stomped, someone held a plate – complete with pie and ice cream on it – and tapped his fork on the side, while yet another person banged his hand (which had a ring on it) on the side of a cocktail glass in time to the music… My sister and I busted out in the Shim Sham, and exhausted as I was, I’m so glad we stayed till the end of the show.

I appreciate each musician that played at the Main Street Public House on Saturday for their prolific songwriting and excellent musicianship, and I appreciate the Main Street Public House for hosting such amazing artists. I sometimes get down about where the mainstream music world is heading – to the guillotine that is (oh wait, that’s where I want to go sometimes, when I’m forced to listen to “popular” music) – but after such a concert as Saturday’s, I’ll just say this: musical justice is served.

Amy Correia:

On Second Thought

Powder Blue Trans Am

Jonathan Spottiswoode:

That’s What I Like

Please Don’t Cry

Mummy’s Got Strange Friends

Now, Didn’t I

Kenny White:

Until You Learn

Going Now

About this entry