Steppin’ Out at Anthony’s

Steppin’ Out is good. Suprisingly good. Not that I expected them to be bad, certainly not, it’s just that I was kind of blown away by how good they really are. Not your typical local cover band, that’s for sure… I had the enjoyment of seeing them play after a comedy show at Anthony’s Banquet Hall in Leeds, NY on Saturday night, and they were the highlight of the evening for me. I’ve seen Steppin’ Out a few times in the past, but it’s always been at a local bar where I didn’t even know they were going to be — I just happened to be there with some friends while the band was playing in another room — so I never fully realized how much I like them. Until Saturday, that is.

Steppin’ Out consists of Mark Passero on bass and vocals, Phil Passero on guitar and vocals, Benny Sloyan on guitar and vocals, Pete Sanson on drums and vocals, and Rich Coogan on keyboard and vocals (yes, they all sing). They have an extensive list on their website of the songs that they play, which they’re constantly adding more to, and the variety is astounding. Van Morrison, The Rolling Stones, Weezer, The Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Ramones, The Who, The Clash, Santana, Lynyrd Skynyrd, the list goes on! There were some smokin’ solos on electric guitar on Saturday, both by Phil and Benny, Pete Sanson was rocking out on drums, Mark did a great job singing a number of classic favorites of mine, such as “Hotel California”, and Rich was definitely channeling some Billy Powell on the keyboard… The look on the musicians faces was pure joy as they played, and that’s what I felt by watching and listening to them. The band really knows how to get the crowd going, and the music only got hotter as the night wore on. The dance floor quickly filled up, and after each song there were enthusiastic cheers from the audience. One of the reasons Steppin’ Out is so good is because they’re authentic. Yeah, they play covers, but they are a natural down-home band, not to mention a damn lot of fun! They don’t try to be something they’re not, which I respect, nor do they have to, because what they are is just fine. Better than fine. Rock bands that play covers and can be found performing at a small-town bar are my guilty pleasure, but Steppin’ Out’s music leaves me nothing to feel guilty about for liking them.

A few videos from Saturday night:

Save A Horse (Ride A Cowboy)

Tube Snake Boogie

Hotel California

About this entry